Happy Thursday and welcome back to the blog! I’m excited to share one of my very favorite bands with you today. As both a music lover and maker, talking about the collections of sounds that I stumble upon and fall in love with is like sharing a piece of my heart with others. Just a warning… I’ll probably be writing about a lot of music over the course of 2020. But I hope introducing you to some new artists, playlists, and pieces will not only help you branch out musically, but also help you get to know me better! I firmly believe knowing a person’s taste in music is a crystal clear glimpse into someone’s soul.

I discovered The Altogether during a period of transitions in my life: I was caught in limbo between my final days of high school and graduation, and the sores of a breakup were just beginning to scab over. Initially the result of some Internet spelunking to find out more about prominent Polygon writer/producer and musician Brian David Gilbert, my introduction to the indie rock group was framed by the pastel album art of debut EP ‘Look Up,’ and colored with the rich acoustic tones of the breathtaking piece ‘Sophie.’ After devouring the ‘Look Up’ EP during an afternoon by my neighborhood pool, I can confidently say I have had the vibrant melodies and stories told by the group’s music bouncing around my ears ever since.

The Altogether was originally a dynamic duo: long time friends, band members, and roommates Jonah Scott and Brian David Gilbert produced their music under ‘Scott and Gilbert,’ a YouTube channel that dates back to 2012 (and is now a hub for the renamed band). Their bond shines through their music in a powerful way – I attribute the warmth of their music to the nature of their friendship. Creating with people that you love is such an incredible experience. Emerging from the creative process with a polished, beautiful product honestly takes second place to the experiences that you’ve been able to share with those dear to you. A true, sappy, beautiful “it’s about the journey, not the destination” sentiment, I know, but I really mean it!

To complete the now-trio that forms the Altogether, some Genius lyric combing showed that female vocalist Sierra Scott did not debut on the EP ‘When We Were Kids,’ but actually sang background vocals on the ‘Look Up’ EP! However, you can hear her beautiful pipes front and center on almost every track on the group’s most recent EP. She is an ethereal, talented artist; I just can’t seem to find much personal detail about her through my research. I’m eagerly anticipating her talents to be featured in the band’s future work!

The group tells stories through their music in powerful ways – I have wrapped so many narratives around the skeleton of ‘Emelina, Right or Wrong’ that I’ve honestly lost count. It’s the type of melody and instrumentation that lends itself to a story; a narrative that is begging to be explored. The sounds of The Altogether ring of relational intimacy and personal reflection from the quirky-confident ‘Five Minutes’ to the quiet, resonant ‘Clean Slated Slate.’ I am seriously honored to experience their music in every listen.

Combing through the group’s Twitter (@altogetherband) shows a beautiful outpouring of The Altogether’s love for their followers. The wonder present in every reply to a fan’s expression of admiration for the band is heartwarming, and shows how aritsts and their followings should relate: meeting at the crossroads of mutual admiration and a motivation to keep creating. No cover, art piece, or sentiment passes by unnoticed, a reality that brought a smile to my face and warmth to my heart.

If you enjoy the song below from the debut EP ‘Look Up’ (or… even if you don’t), you can support/keep up with The Altogether on YouTube, Twitter, Bandcamp, Apple Music, and Spotify (links attached). This powerhouse trio of artists inspires me with their music every day. Thank you for allowing me to share them with you.

Mot joyeux d’aujourd’hui: A problem is a chance for you to do your best. (Duke Ellington)

Much love,

Alyson

Sophie was my most played song of 2019. Sit back and let this piece of genius embrace you.

Leave a comment